26
Sep
08

the shortest dating diet in history

In my last post I mentioned that if things didn’t work out on my blind date, I was taking a break. Going on a “dating diet” if you will. Well, sure enough – sparks didn’t fly with R. We had nothing to talk about, and I was in and outta there in under an hour. And to be honest, I was almost relieved. I think I was ready for a dating break, and went into the next day feeling like a weight had been lifted off my shoulders. Which is really strange, since obviously I’ve been initiating these dates and bringing them on myself so you’d think I’d be all over it, and excited to have these opportunities.

But, after awhile, it gets emotionally and mentally exhausting to keep dating people when nothing materializes. I don’t think my “coupled” friends really understand though – they make fun of me for going out of my way to meet someone, and then complaining that I don’t want to date anymore. All you other singles out there know what I mean, though. You start to lose hope and feel discouraged that all those people telling you “Just wait. There’s someone out there for you” might not really be right.

All this to say, at the end of the first day of my dating diet, one of my best frends L., calls me up and says that she wants to set me up. I told her about my dating diet and said her timing was impecable. But, she continued to tell me about JD – how he is one of her boss’s best friends, and that her and her boss just randomly got talking about their single friends and turns out that me and JD have an insane amount of things in common. L. said they talked for almost two hours about what a great match we’d be. So – needless to say, I had to say yes. I feel as though this is somewhat of a different opportunity than my other blind dates though, given that a) L is one of my best friends; someone I trust, who knows me and my tastes really well, and b) gave her the condition that I would only do it in a group setting. I’ve found that on blind dates it really is hard for people to be themselves, but with friends around, it’s hard to get away with that. To be honest, JD sounds perfect for me. Great on paper. But as I’ve mentioned before, chemistry is key. He now has my email address but we’ll be meeting in November at a charity event hosted by L’s work. We’ll see what happens.

Another update: A. emailed and asked me out AGAIN. This time to see a play. A musical no less! What’s a girl to do?? I’m starting to wonder if I have now overanalyzed this situation too much – what if he really does just want to be friends!!?? How do I know? And do I really have to ask that question?? I told him that I was unavailable. I know honesty is the best policy, but in a situation like this, I’m thinking avoidance is better. If anyone has any advice, please let me know!

5 Responses to “the shortest dating diet in history”


  1. 1 Tash
    September 28, 2008 at 8:28 am

    Hey, I love your blog and how you’re honest and candid with your search for the right guy. I’m in the same boat as well, and just wanted to let you know that I’m linking your blog to mine!

  2. 2 Single Girl
    September 28, 2008 at 10:37 am

    Thanks Tash! Glad you are enjoying it. I find it comforting to know there are many others in the same boat as me 🙂


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 30,425 hits