04
Oct
08

the waiting game

So a week or so ago, I was perfectly happy to be on my dating diet. But ever since my friend L. told me about that guy (JD) that she and her boss wanted to set me up with, I’ve been waiting anxiously to hear from him! It’s like all of a sudden, I want to be dating again! (No wonder men think women can’t make up their minds). I guess it’s because L. really sold me on him and I started to get a little bit excited to meet someone that wasn’t just single, but possibly a really good match for me. We have lots in common, and L. was really detailed about telling me all of the questions she asked/told her boss about me and him. And all of the answers sounded perfect!

Now, I’m the first one to admit that someone can look great on paper but then you have no attraction or chemistry. But the way I see it, eventually I’m going to meet someone that has both, right? So starting with someone who I know is great in theory, is just that – a good start. Although L. hasn’t met this guy, I absolutely trust her and I know that she knows exactly what I’m looking for and need in a good match. She was even asking her boss questions like, “What would he do in X situation?” or “J really needs someone who is like ‘this’. Is he like ‘that’?” LOL. I love L.

So after JD agreed to this set-up, I told L. she could pass on my contact details – and from what I’ve heard – he got my email address early this week. But still, nothing! And now I feel like it’s too late to get HIS contact details, because really – if he wanted us to connect, he could make it happen! The worst part of all of this is that I SO did NOT want to get my hopes up. I wanted to stay completely neutral about the situation so I’d either be pleasantly surprised, or not disappointed. But it’s difficult to stay neutral when it sounds as though someone is so great for you. I’ve had such a hard time meeting genuinely good, sincere, great guys that have relationship potential. So when one comes along, it’s hard not to get hopeful. Especially because they come so very few and far between. Having said all this – JD could be a total dud! Who really knows, right? Of course L’s boss is going to talk up her friend like he’s so great! Ugh…now I’m just trying to make myself feel better that I haven’t heard from him.

So, back I go – like a girl waiting by the phone for a guy to call (or in this case, my email.)

2 Responses to “the waiting game”


  1. 1 Tash
    October 5, 2008 at 1:21 am

    I know exactly how you feel!

    Just last week, I met a guy through our mutual friends and he was great – really down to earth, smart and funny, pretty good looking too. And we chatted quite a lot, considering that we’ve just met.

    He seemed pretty interested to see me again, and even texted to say that he enjoyed the company, but till today, I have not heard from him since.

    I’m pretty much accepted the fact that ‘he’s just not that into me’, but before I got to this point, it was absolutely AWFUL waiting for that phone call, or that email or just some MSN shout-out!

    I HATE getting my hopes up, but honestly, can we really deny how we truly feel? It’s ideal if we could be ‘neutral’, but if a guy doesn’t bring out any emotions in you, then we’ve got ourselves a ‘lack of chemistry’ problem….so, really, there’s probably no ‘right’ way of ‘feeling’ when it comes to men and dating.

    It’s probably meant to have highs and lows I just hope when the right guy comes along, he’ll be worth all the wait, and disappointment.

  2. 2 Single Girl
    October 5, 2008 at 11:38 am

    Good points, Tash. I hear ya!


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 30,425 hits