09
Oct
08

The Law of Averages

So tonight I was watching Grey’s Anatomy. This patient came in and was explaining to the doctor about all of his bad luck; lost his job, lost his wife, got a tumor etc, etc. As the doctor was trying to reassure the patient that he’d be fine in surgery, he also started telling the patient about the law of averages; that eventually, after all of his bad luck, the tide was bound to turn and balance out his bad luck with some good luck. This immediately made me think of my dating life and the fact that I must be due for something good to happen.

Now, I’m not sure whether or not I believe in the law of averages. Accordingly to Wikipedia, it’s not even a “real” theory, but a lay term that “reflects bad statistics or wishful thinking rather than any mathematical principle.” But, for the sake of my sanity and the fact that I’ve been single for four years I’m hoping that a little positive thinking will go a long way.

On that note, I emailed JD back on Tuesday night. Yes – I only waited 24hrs. But to be honest, I am so past the point of playing games. I’m not doing the whole “I’d better wait three days so I don’t look desperate” thing. I was excited to hear from him, and wanted to get the ball rolling – what’s wrong with that? I don’t want to be with someone who plays games either. L. called me tonight with the ‘inside scoop.’ She said that JD had received my email and was excited to meet me. Good sign, I think 🙂 She said that he’d probably be asking me out for coffee .

Now, I know this sounds a bit silly, but part of me is hoping he doesn’t…weird, right? I guess I just don’t want to be disappointed….again. All of my blind dates have ended with the same result and this guy just sounds too good to be true. If we don’t actually meet, I can stay with this whole excited, new, crush-type feeling without any disappointment. Not that I don’t EVER want to meet him of course, but with L’s charity event coming up on Nov. 7th we’re going to meet each other eventually and I would just rather do it in a group setting. You know how they say if something’s broke, don’t fix it? My blind date process is obviously broke and therefore…I need to fix it. Whether that means a group setting, dinner instead of coffee (more date-like?) or talking more before we actually go it (so the date isn’t SO blind) then maybe I’ll have more luck and the law of averages will be on my side.

2 Responses to “The Law of Averages”


  1. 1 niecey24
    October 10, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    I actually like this post. Very nicely done. And hmm four years single. That’s not so bad. Maybe you should discuss what you’ve learned during that time. Unless you have already and I have yet to read it. Overall sounds really exciting. One thing I regret is moving too quickly. The longer you extend the excitement phase….the better. Check me out @ todaystatus.wordpress.com

  2. October 11, 2008 at 7:09 am

    Wandered over here. Looks like you have a really interesting blog! I don’t have time to read your entries right now, but I skimmed some of them and I already have a lot to say… will be coming back soon. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 30,438 hits