14
Oct
08

Just a brief update…

Six days after receiving my email, JD finally wrote back. SOOOO much waiting and no explanation for the delay. Perhaps we’re so used to getting everything so lickity split these days with blackberries, and iphones and Facebook – that this is technically considered a normal turnaround time for an email? I don’t know. I just know that I’m not into the games, and I would find it hard to believe he was that busy, for that long, that he wouldn’t have time to write a quick email. Am I being too tough on hiim, here? I guess I just thought he was excited and wanted to get this show on the road, like I did.

So – although I won’t be writing back tonight, I’m not making any plans to wait either. I’ll probably write back tomorrow. I always say, “you permit, what you promote” – and I refuse to give in to playing the game.

He did ask me out, which I had mixed feelings about. Of course I’d like to meet him, but I was kind of hoping we’d get to know each other a bit better before that. I’m so terrified of being disappointed again, on yet another blind date, and would rather avoid it as long as possible – have some time to get a little more excited about it first.

And – I still haven’t seen a picture. Good or bad thing….I’m not sure. At the end of the day, what looks good on paper with this guy means nothing if the rest of it isn’t there. Let’s hope I’m not waiting another week to find out!

2 Responses to “Just a brief update…”


  1. October 15, 2008 at 9:24 am

    I never quite understand the rules of the game when replying to emails or texts – its something I never get right. Mainly because if the email is interesting and I want to reply in like, the first read is normally enough to get my fingers typing!

    Maybe he was building up the courage to write, that could be an explanation of sorts.

  2. October 15, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    I understand what you mean – that’s why I never play “the game” – are there even any rules?? And if so, who knows them? Who’s the referee? I just can’t be bothered. I’d rather just be up front and honest so we both know what you’re dealing with. As soon as I got his first email, I was excited and responded right away. This shows I’m interested. If he’s not, that’s fine – but just tell me so!


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 30,425 hits