17
Oct
08

Bright Lights, Date City

The date is on. Not only did I agree to go out with JD after he sent me an email early this week, but I actually proposed that we get together this weekend. Me! The one who wanted to postpone this as long as possible. The reason was two-fold: 1) I didn’t want to wait another week for an email from him, and b) I will be out of town for work next week/weekend and figured we might as well get this underway.

I feel a bit bad about giving JD a hard time about taking so long to email back, as I heard from my friend L. that his computer was broken for the week and he was afraid to tell me for fear I’d think it was an excuse. Truth be told, that IS probably what I would have thought. But he’s been quite resonsive to my emails this week and took charge deciding the time/location for the date, which I like. So – I actually have a date for “date night.”

Right now, I’m walking that very fine line between getting excited that this could be something great, and thinking that chances are this will turn out like every other blind date I’ve been on; guy looks great on paper and is perfectly nice, but there’s no chemistry whatsoever. This is what makes me nervous. I am ready to meet someone great. I am ready to NOT be single anymore. And as much as I don’t want my expectations to be too high, I’m hoping against all hope that this might be something. Now, as I’m writing this, I realize that I need to take my expectations down a notch beofre tomorrow night. Like I said, I’m having a hard time walking the fine line. I have not seen a picture of JD either, so I have no idea what I’m getting into – it’s literally a blind date. I’m told his cute – but that could mean so many things, especially given that one of his best girl friends is doing the setting up and wants to see him settled. (And there’s the low expectations side of the line).

As much as I wanted to make this more of a “date” by trying to do the dinner or group thing, it seems we’ve defaulted back to the Starbucks coffee shop downtown. Actually, the same Starbucks coffee shop that all of my other blind dates have been at. It has not escaped me that this location has not been the best of luck for me dating-wise, but I’m trying not to be superstitious on top of everything else. We started a conversation over email about how much I enjoy Starbucks, and of course JD took it as a good segue way (cleverly so) to do the asking out…to Starbucks. So- there you have it: Saturday night – 7:00pm – bright lights, date city.

2 Responses to “Bright Lights, Date City”


  1. 1 Cuz
    October 18, 2008 at 8:07 am

    Relax, enjoy, have fun!

  2. October 18, 2008 at 10:55 am

    Thanks Cuz 🙂 I know you’re right!


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 30,438 hits