28
Dec
08

Single for the Holidays

I am still alive loyal readers.

The holidays have been hectic – I hope that everyone had a good one with loved ones and friends. I found the holidays to be a bit exhausting myself. There’s always so much going on and I’d be lying if I said it wasn’t emotionally difficult at times. For me, being ‘alone’ just plain sucks during the holidays.

I have never understood why New Year’s is even considered a holiday. It really is just another day and another excuse to get drunk and party. And yes, I felt this way even when I was in a relationship. But when you’re NOT in a relationship, it makes New Years even less noteworthy.

After spending the last six New Years eves at B & C’s house party, I was feeling ready to do something different this year. As I struggle with my single life, I’m finding it increasingly difficult to be the only single person at any party or get together that I go to. And it would be no different at New Years. So, when my best friend C. (NOT of B & C) asked if I wanted to go to the ‘city’ to spend New Year’s eve with her, I thought – why not? Her fiancee has to work, and I couldn’t think of a better way to spend New Year’s eve than with C., a fancy dinner with champagne and a walk down to the square at midnight. I did struggle a little bit with the decision because it’s been tradition for me to go to B&C’s for New Year’s and I do always have a good time. But, I’ve also always associated that party with X (who will also be there) and it’s time to cut that tie. If I want to get through the holidays in one piece emotionally, I gotta do what I gotta do.

So – to all my loyal single girl readers of this blog, I will be thinking of you when the clock strikes midnight. Here’s hoping that single or not, 2009 brings us everything we’re looking for.

7 Responses to “Single for the Holidays”


  1. 1 Bridget
    January 1, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    I feel exactly the same way. The holidays are tough when you’re always the only single person in the room. And New Year’s wasn’t much better! Can’t wait to put it all behind me. Here’s to finding our prince charming.

  2. January 1, 2009 at 11:20 pm

    You said it, Bridget. It gets really tough to be the only single person, and the holidays just magnify things. I have a wedding to get through this weekend and then I’ll be putting 2008 behind me too. I DID have a great New Year’s with my best friend C….I hope you did to.

  3. 3 Dee
    January 7, 2009 at 2:50 am

    Happy New Year Single Girl! 🙂 Hear hear! I know exactly how you feel. Lucky thing on NYE I had another single friend who wanted to go out. So there we were at our usual hangout, we saw a a group of what seem like ‘available’ men but unfortunately they didn’t blink our way. =/ Even with that, I still had a blast despite being alone AGAIN on NYE. Here’s to more dates in 2009. 🙂

  4. January 7, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    Happy New Year Dee! I had a blast on New Year’s Eve too…I guess making your own happiness is the key 🙂 I’ll cheers to more dates in 2009…hear hear!


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 30,425 hits