19
Jan
09

Marrying Me

For those of you experiencing these frigid Canadian temperatures sweeping through the country right now, you’ll understand why I locked myself inside and hibernated this weekend. As I was flipping through the oh-so-exciting Saturday afternoon TV, I cam across this super cheesey, made-for-TV movie called “I Me Wed.” Despite the cheese factor, the premise behind the movie was actually kind of inspiring.

After constantly having to defend why she’s single to all of her friends, the protagonist decides that she’s going to marry herself. Literally. At first, it’s just because she’s sick of people constantly trying to set her up or find out why she’s still single – particularly because she enjoys being single and has no desire to get married. Then, it becomes a bit more about trying to make this statement: that being single does not mean there is something wrong with you. That being married or in a couple should NOT be an expectation. And that being married or in a couple does not define who you are. So – she buys a wedding dress, sends out invitations and hires her best gay friend as her wedding planner. Of course, through the course of all this, she meets a young, handsome, ‘ not-her-type’ contractor, and ends up marrying him in the end….too. But – let’s just forget about that part…weddings-in-vienna-11

On a boring Saturday afternoon, the movie got me thinking. The concept of marrying yourself IS kind of inspiring.  Think about the purpose of getting married – committing your life to someone you love more than anyone; vowing to love, honour and cherish, for richer or for poorer, in sickness and in health, for better or for worse, until….death do you part? (OK – most of it fits).

The question is: why shouldn’t single girls be committing themselves to this?? Even just the concept of it is something single girls should strive for (myself included) – we should commit to doing all of those things to ourselves! Maybe we SHOULD create an occasion to celebrate our singlness!? Why NOT buy a fancy dress and have your friends over for a party? Why not register somewhere nice and have people bring you gifts to celebrate your OWN life?? Just because we’re living single doesn’t mean we don’t need china, nice dishes and a waffle iron too…

The funniest thing about all of this is that I actually Googled ‘how to marry yourself.’ Turns out, there is a TON of stuff out there about people who are trying to follow this very concept! So, who knows – don’t be surprised if you someday find yourself getting an invite to a wedding for a couple named “me and myself!”

SIDE NOTE: For those of you in the USA – us Canadians might steal your President for ourselves! So looking forward to watching the history-making inauguration tomorrow….enjoy!

5 Responses to “Marrying Me”


  1. 1 SMF
    January 20, 2009 at 4:38 am

    I find this very inspiring.

    I’m starting to truly get the concept that happiness is a mindset. I get depressed that I don’t have someone special in my life, and I blame the lack of someone special as the reason that I’m depressed.But the truth is, I’m probably just not fulfilled with how I’m living my life.

    It got me thinking the other day when I took myself to the movies and enjoyed my own company, that I can be happy being single. If I’ll never find love, I think I’ll be okay. It’s not so bad being on my own…there’s nothing stopping me from being happy when I accept that I can be satisfied if things remain as they are. It might not be ideal, but I’ll adjust to the circumstances.

    So yeah..I think, instead of believing that I need a boyfriend to celebrate life, I’ll make up my own selfish reasons to celebrate. With friends or without..doesn’t matter.

    🙂

    Never miss your blog, by the way.

  2. January 20, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    Thanks for reading and commenting SMF! I know exactly how you feel. It is so easy to let the sadness take over, and I find that I have to make a deliberate and conscious daily effort to work at being happy and fulfilled in my life – on my own. That’s hard in itself, but I’m convinced it will become a habit and get easier over time.

    Making a point of celebrating and taking yourself on dates is a great way to go…I might take myself on a date soon actually – I’m overdue 🙂 You go girl!!

  3. 3 BD
    January 21, 2009 at 10:16 am

    If anyone is interested in watching the movie “I Me Wed”, it’s on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AIf0RZVK_BI&feature=PlayList&p=6C565848D1A89C7E&index=0&playnext=1

    I’m about 1/2way through it and you’re right, SingleGirl, it makes some really good points about the whole hoopla surrounding having the perfect wedding/marriage/forever and ever.

    Great post!

    “Fine, marry yourself. But I’m not buying you a present!” –her mom

  4. 4 BD
    January 23, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    If anyone is interested in watching “I Me Wed”, you can get it on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AIf0RZVK_BI&feature=PlayList&p=6C565848D1A89C7E&index=0&playnext=1

    You’re right, SingleGirl, it is a bit silly but makes some good points about the crazy hoopla surrounding having the perfect wedding while ignoring your true feelings.

    Thanks for the post!

  5. January 25, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    Thanks BD! Sorry it took awhile to get your comments posted – they ended up in Spam! The movie definitely makes some good points, and lends some inspiration for not putting too much emphasis on having a partner (or husband) to meet society’s expectations. Glad you enjoyed it!


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 30,438 hits