17
Feb
09

Two Degrees of Separation

six_degrees_smallI’m back readers. After a 9 day vacation to the sunny south, I’m back to reality (and the cold). The vacation was a blast, and even though I travelled with B & C and was worried about the third wheel thing, everything turned out fine and we had a blast together.

It’s funny that I just traveled with about 2000 strangers on a cruise ship to three different islands, and yet I come home and am amazed at how small the world really is. I don’t know if it’s because I live in, what big city folks would call, a ‘small town’ (it’s a city of about 350,000 people) but I seem to be the most intraconnected person I know. While I was going through all of the eharmony matches that were delivered while I was on vacation, lo and behold there was a guy on the list that I have already met before – I friend of a close relative of mine.  Not someone I’d date for several reasons, but it was just one more instance in which I find myself bizarrely connected to random people who should have nothing to do with each other!

Now, as a single incident, this wouldn’t even be worth mentioning, But I find that in my life, 6 degrees of separation is always more like 2 degrees. And I know many of my friends and family would agree with this statement. It wasn’t that big of a deal at first, because this happens to everyone. But it seems to keep happening to me – over, and over in the most random ways. Everyone I meet is connected to someone else I know, and not always in a good way – especially when it comes to past crushes. This ‘intraconnection’ is what has caused a lot of the issues with my X, has made it incredibly difficult to get over my last crush, and is making it even more difficult to accept some of the people that have recently come back into my life in the most random way. I’m hoping that eventually this 2 degrees of separation is going to work in my favour – in terms of my single life or otherwise. But man – sometimes I just want to pick-up and go somewhere where no one knows me, and I don’t have to deal with any drama that accumulates from being bizarrely connected to the most random people; taking advantage of my single life instead of complaining about it by picking up, and just going somewhere new.

Hmm….something to think about…

2 Responses to “Two Degrees of Separation”


  1. 1 Dee
    February 23, 2009 at 11:18 am

    Hello there,

    It’s been too long since I visited your blog. But I am back! =)

    Yes, it’s a small world afterall. You never know that someone you know, knew someone you dated etc etc etc. I hope I don’t sound too cliche, but yes, it has happened to me too! It’s no longer 7 (or 10 or 20) degrees of separation. I have contemplated many a times to move somewhere I don’t know anyone. *fingers crossed* that’ll happen soon! I think it’s about time we move on……somewhere else! 😉

    Hope you had a awesome vacation. I know I’m in need of one.

  2. February 23, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    Welcome back Dee! I feel I’ve been absent lately too. And yes – I’m feeling in a rut and ready for a big move….seriously considering it. You should too! 🙂 Vacation was great – hope you get one soon too!


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 30,425 hits