23
Feb
09

Random thoughts from the weekend…

Alright – so I’m too tired to come up with a clever title for this one.

I had a great weekend! First of all, it was Spring Break week at my work, which meant some professional development sessions for staff. On Friday, I went to one of the most inspiring lectures of my life! One of our well-known faculty gave a talk about some of his life experiences; notably, losing his brother-in-law in a mountain climbing accident in New Zealand and having to keep himself alive overnight in -30C weather wearing shorts and a t-shirt. His brother-in-law basically saved his life by refusing to accept his outstretched hand, and he describes this as the one second that changed his life. His outlook on life has been completely different since – his entire lecture was about seizing the day, taking advantage of opportunities that come your way (or looking for the not so obvious opportunities!), and seeing the positive in everything – even tragedy. It’s hard to really put into words how moving this lecture was for me. I think that it just came at the right time in my life –  I’ve been thinking about some life changes, and looking for all the reasons why I shouldn’t do it. I’m starting to see that maybe there’s a reason I’m still single, and the universe is trying to tell me that there’s something else I’m suppsed to be doing; taking advantage of the opportunities in my single life, instead of bitching about it. Needless to say, I have a bit of a different outlook on things right now.

Friday night, I went with my friend J. to see the movie “He’s Just Not That Into You.” FANTASTIC! I expected a cute chick-flick, but not much else. But I enjoyed it much more than I thought I would! J. and I are big fans of the book, and it actually translated really well to the screen. It was funny to be in the theatre with all these women and hear everyone “ooooh” and “aahhh” and “tsk” at the same moments. You definitely got the sense that most of us had been there! I highly recommend it as a great girl’s night out. My only complaint – the whole premise of the book and the movie is that single girls need to remind themselves that they are the rule, and not the exception. However, the movie doesn’t exactly end that way. This was kind of disappointing – I sort of hoped they would show that a single girl’s life can still be great, even if “He’s Just Not That Into You.” Regardless, this book is a must read and the movie is a must-see for single girls everywhere. Trust me.

In other updates this week, I have made the decision NOT to email my last crush. I figure – what do I want to get out of it? I’ll end up waiting for some reply that won’t make me feel any better. And at the end of the day, the fact that he’s engaged will have to suffice as enough closure for me. We went on a few dates and it didn’t work out. Really, while I wish him the best, I don’t owe him a congrats – and emotionally,  it’s not worth it.

The eHarmony quest is still ongoing. I float back and forth from seeing this as ‘seizing opportunities’ (as mentioned above), and being just a big pain in my a$$. Here’s the thing about online dating – if you’re really serious about it, it’s actually a lot of work! It’s exhausting to read and weed through all those matches; especially when you don’t know enough about the person to be really ‘excited’ about communicating with them – so you have to push through the first few stages in order to really find out more, and see if it’s been worth all your time. Someone recently gave me the analogy that online dating is like working in sales; you make 10 cold calls, hope to get 3 prospects, and might get 1 sale out of those. Well – I have looked at over 100 matches since I rejoined eHarmony, and I’m only communicating with 2 of them. So, the stats are not necessarily so good but as my mom says, it only takes one. We’ll see what happens.

In other news, I haven’t had any communication with X in weeks. Not so sure it’s newsworthy, but for the first time, I kind of don’t care. If he calls to see how things are, great – it would be nice to catch-up. But I wrote him two messages back in January and never heard back so what’s the point? It’s kind of funny that sometimes it takes a completely, non-dramatic ‘event’ to make you see the light. One of my friends once told me that maybe if I stopped trying so hard to have a friendship with X, it would just happen naturally. I’m starting to think he might be right.

Hmm….what else in random thoughts of the week….

Oh – I have a wee little crush on Dev Patel from Slumdog Millionaire. Another fantastic movie that I saw on Saturday  night during my girl’s night with B. I wasn’t sure I would like it because I’m not usually into the underdog/independent films, but it was such a sweet movie. Yes – he’s 18, but what a cutie, and so sincerely amazed and humbled by this new found success. And his British accent makes him that much more adorable. And the little kids in this movie??? To die for (check out this interview – it will definitely make you smile!). Thoroughly enjoyed the Oscars last night too – the best broadcast of it that I’ve seen, and I agree with all the winning choices.  All in all – a great Single Girl’s weekend.

9 Responses to “Random thoughts from the weekend…”


  1. 1 missmidori
    February 24, 2009 at 10:27 am

    I have a crush on Dev Patel too!

    Thanks for that, my friends made me feel like a pedophile for crushing on a boy years younger than me!

    Not many though, just three. 😉

  2. February 24, 2009 at 11:18 am

    Thanks for the mountain climbing story. How inspiring!

    You sound like you are absolutely on the right path and doing what you need to do be who you want to be.

  3. February 24, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    Missmidori – no shame in that! The kid is adorable. Maybe if there were some good single men like him a few years older, we wouldn’t be crushing on 18 year olds! LOL

    Planner – I in no way did the story justice. There is much more to it, and it was one of the most inspiring stories of courage I’ve ever heard. And thanks for your kind words, definitely working on it!

  4. February 24, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    Regarding the “X”, he is probably too proud to acknowledge you. If you have attempted to reach out to him and he has not responded, I would not wasted any more energy on him. My parents always told me, “If a man can live his life without you, then you can live your life without him.” By the way, don’t crush the crush unless he crushes you!

  5. February 24, 2009 at 11:20 pm

    Well said on all accounts, Crystal!

  6. 6 Dee
    February 25, 2009 at 1:18 am

    Sounds like you had a funfilled weekend with the girls! I’m definitely taking your recommendations to watch both movies, once it reaches us. =)

    Again, I think we pretty much are in the same shoes. I’ve been on a personals site for the longest time ever and so far, zilch. I’m beginning to wonder if this online dating thing works. However, being the persistent person I am, I still have my membership and will continue to try. It’s hard work but someone’s gotta do it. From your last post, I am already planning to make changes in my life and ‘hopefully’ moving to another city some thousands of miles away from home. =) I’m hoping you’re seriously considering that as well.

    Seize the day!

  7. February 25, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    Enjoy the movies Dee! I don’t think you’ll be sorry on either account.

    Definitely sounds like we’re in the same boat. Do you think that increases the chances that one of us is bound to have luck soon? 🙂 Man, it sure gets frustrating…

    Many ways to seize the day…definitely considering a move as one of them 🙂

  8. 8 Niecey C
    February 25, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    Oohh I c had I read this entry I would have known u didn’t send that email! LOL whoops! Glad u had a gr8 booless weekend… I gather once one isn’t booless they long 4 the freedom they had when they were yet desperately try to escape it while in it…go figure. In any case that inspirational speech you reference reminds me of a show called I shouldn’t be alive. Should check it out. As for me I want 2 check out both of those movies 😉

  9. March 5, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    It sounds like you are finally doing you! YAY I am on the same path!


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 30,425 hits