14
Mar
09

cautious optimism

So I had a date on Thursday night. I hadn’t mentioned it in my blog, because I was sure it would be another disappointment – following the same pattern of other blind dates/guys I had met online.  Imagine my surprise when I actually enjoyed this date! I wouldn’t say the sparks were flying, but there is definitely potential, which is more than I can say for the rest of my dates.

Unlike other guys I had met online, I actually communicated with this guy for about two weeks via email before we decided to meet. Usually, it would be 2-3 emails and then coffee. I think this was a much better way to go, because we got to know a lot more about each other and the more I found out about him, the more I liked him and was curious to meet. It was hard not to get excited about the date, because he sounded fantastic – super nice, lots of questions and we seemed to have a lot in common. But I was worried that what seeemed good ‘on paper’ wouldn’t transate in person. Luckily, it did. We had great conversation, lots to say, lots in common and although the physical attraction wasn’t super strong – I do think he’s cute. To-date, probably the best blind date I’ve been on. We had already planned our second date before we finished our first! And – would you believe that today is my birthday, and S. (my date) was the first one to call me today and wish me a happy birthday? Hmmmm….:)

Now it’s up to me not to get freaked out that this could actually be something – provided that connection/spark starts to grow. Thank goodness I listened to my best friend C. and avoided the Starbucks first date like all of my other blind dates – maybe it made my luck start to turn….I’m cautiously optimistic.

3 Responses to “cautious optimism”


  1. 1 aashton
    March 16, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    Way to go girl! Glad you ditched the usual Starbucks…fresh venue= fresh perspective perhaps? Good luck on the 2nd date! Keep us posted!

  2. March 16, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    Sounds like it could be promising… we want to know so that we can smile when you smile, laugh when you laugh, or talk about him if he turns sour. By the way, happy belated!

  3. March 16, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    Thanks AA and Crystal! You bet I will keep you posted on all of the details. And thanks for the birthday wishes!


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 30,438 hits