08
Apr
09

…and Guest.

wedding-inviteOk – why is it that two such tiny, insignificant words on a wedding invitation can send me into a bitter state of annoyance? It’s not like I’ve never got ‘and Guest’ on a wedding invitation before, but I’m usually IN the wedding party and therefore don’t really feel affected by the need to have someone else there with me. I get to sit at the head table (ex. not with other couples) and have duties to fulfill that keep my mind occupied. I’ve also been invited to a lot of weddings where I haven’t got an ‘and Guest’ – mostly because I come from a HUGE immediate family on my mom’s side, and an Italian family on my Dad’s side – so with so many people, it’s not unusual for many of us not to get an ‘and Guest’ unless you’re in a long-term, serious relationship. But, the other day I got one of my first ‘and Guest’ wedding invitations for two friends of mine, where I am NOT in the wedding party and will have no family there. I’m not sure if it was just the day I was having, or the mood I was in, but I immediately started to dread having to go to the wedding alone, and for no sane or legitimate reason whatsoever….felt frustrated and annoyed.

It could be worse – the wedding is for two friends of mine, and pretty much all of my best friends will be there (B&C at the head table, and C&A at my table). But I know I’ll also be stuck at a table with D&J – that couple from high school that I can’t stand. And probably the significant others of the other peeps in the wedding party. Knowing that my best friend C. and her fiancee A. will be at my table is an immediate relief – but being the only single one at a wedding can be pretty depressing. If I thought this wedding was an opportunity to meet someone, it wouldn’t be so bad – but this definitely isn’t that type of wedding.

I’m dreading it so much that I’ve actually considered asking X to be my date. (All my friends and family who are reading this are cringing right now…I know). But, I’ve been his ‘back-up’ date to weddings before, and he knows this couple (in addition to his sister and brother-in-law who will also be there) so it wouldn’t be completely random. What would this accomplish? Uhh…mostly just remind me that I’m not the only single person left in the world in a moment where everyone I know is in the process of committing their life to someone (oh…AND give me someone to slow dance with). What else would this accomplish? Well – he will probably disappoint me with his less than enthusiastic behavior about being there, will be miserable all night, bail early, and will probably end up making me feel worse that I invited him….resulting in me, once again, remembering why breaking up was the best decision we ever made.

Yep – definitely not a good idea. ….but ugh.

1 Response to “…and Guest.”


  1. 1 Mom
    April 9, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    Yep, definitely not a good idea!! Read your last paragraph over a few times, so you don’t make that mistake.

    Love you!!
    Mom


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 30,425 hits