19
Apr
09

A Single Girl’s VIPs

I’ve been meaning to write this post for a long time now. Because just about every day,  I’m reminded of how lucky I am to have some pretty amazing people in my life. I believe that every Single Girl needs some VIPs to get them through the tough, lonely times; those people who remind you that you deserve the best, that you shouldn’t settle, and that at the end of the day, you’re really not alone. So, I’m writing this post as a tribute to some of those really important people in my life. But, I believe (and hope!) that every single girl has some similar VIPs she can go to when the loneliness is unbearable, and she needs a pick-me-up/kick in the butt/shoulder to cry on/good laugh/encouragement/or someone to tell her what she wants to hear (yes – we all need that sometimes!) So, here’s the shout-out to my VIPs!

C: Probably my best friend in the world. C is the one I go to when I need my butt kicked…and I mean seriously. And I never take offense to what she says, because I purposely call her when I know someone has to tell me what I don’t want to hear (every single girl needs a friend like this who can talk sense into her!). But in the same breath, she listens – over, and over, and over again. Even when I’m starting to get sick of myself talking about my issues with singledom, with X, with anything, C. never lets on that she’s losing patience with me and ALWAYS has something to say that inevitably makes me feel better. She never runs out of good advice or encouraging words. More than anything, C. is the one that always reminds me not to settle – she reminds me about what I deserve, and makes me feel that I’m worth this (agonizing) wait for someone great. I seriously don’t know what I’d do without someone like her. I can’t mention C. without also mentioning her fiancee A. A great guy, who makes me laugh and is GREAT at giving me dating advice from the guy’s perspective. Like C., A. is protective of making sure I find someone that is right for me and has become just as close a friend to me. And since they have been living a 2-hour drive away from me for the last two years, I realize that I have started to miss A. (almost!) as much as I miss C. I can’t wait until you guys move back home!!!

L: L is another one of my ‘bestest’ friends. We met during first year University and bonded in a Women’s Studies class over a class-break discussion about hair removal methods (go figure!) L. has the biggest heart of of almost anyone I know. She is the friend I can call at 3am, and she’d be by my side no questions asked. If I needed money, she’d do whatever she had to do to help me out. We can go weeks, or even months without talking and when we do, it’s like no time has passed. We can call each other and jump right into conversation without even saying hello (I have never been able to do this with anyone else!) Whenever I have a problem, L. talks to me from all sides of the issue and makes sure I see it from all perspectives. Her calming encouragement and belief in me is reassuring when I’m not ready to hear what I know I need to hear. Even though she knows what is the best move for me (and knows that I know it too), she indulges me, and lets me get there in my own time. She has this mothering quality about her that I hope she realizes is one of her greatest strengths – she just knows how to care about people.

JD: Don’t you love it when good friends come into your life ‘late’ in life….after you think you’ve met all the people that you could ever be friends with? JD is also a co-worker of mine, and we sort of just seem to ‘click.’ One day around Christmas, JD and I ended up spending a great afternoon at a restaurant downtown, chatting over tea and snacks. Little did we realize how much we really have in common. JD has had some awesome life experiences, and is someone who has really shown me all of the opportunities that are open to me. Even though I have some amazing friends who have known me forever, JD and I have been through some really similar experiences and it’s nice to know someone who ‘gets it’…our Sunday afternoon coffee dates have started to give me something to look forward to on some of those, otherwise, lonely weekends. JD and I also work really well together (at work) and it’s nice to have someone I can vent my work frustrations to! JD – I really appreciate our new found friendship. Thanks for our chats 🙂

JM: I don’t see JM too often – we only get together every now and then for a catch-up. But, our conversations can go on for hours, and she makes me laugh the most out of all of my friends. JM is very different from me – where I am more reserved and conservative, JM has a contagious, out-going spirit that is completely addictive. She sees the humour in everything, and knows how to laugh at herself (something I desperately need to learn). JM has discovered the secret to enjoying and making the most out of life – and just talking to her and hearing about her, sometimes, wild and crazy experiences, helps me realize that I need to loosen up sometimes. JM doesn’t see this in herself – but hopefully this ‘shout-out’ will make her realize how much she’s appreciated by the people around her 🙂

Mom/Dad/Bro: Well, there aren’t really enough words to tell you how amazing/important these three people are in my life. I have had a rough couple of years, and when I would have gotten sick of me, these three hung in there. Through the countless tears and miserable moods, they always let me know that they were there for me. My brother, although younger than me, is wise beyond my years. He’s always there for me with the best advice and is truly one of the most caring and genuine men I know. When it comes to my Dad, I am your traditional Daddy’s girl. More than anything, my Dad makes me laugh – and in the years since I’ve moved away from home, he goes even more out of his way to show me he loves me in so many ways. I know he would do anything for me. And my Mom. (Mom – stop crying 🙂 ) Mom and I are so much alike, that it makes our relationship rather complex. But at the end of the day, she is the rock that keeps me together. I know that all of my family and friends want the best for me – but no one shows it more than my Mom. In the loneliest and lowest of times, she has the patience that I so desperately need and lets me just wallow in it for awhile. But, she kicks my butt when I need it too, and seems to have found that fine balance for letting me cry it out and then helping me to bounce back. When I truly start to feel as though I might be alone for the rest of my life, these are the three people that take over in believing that there is someone out there for me. And their absolute conviction and certainty in this helps me get through some really lonely times. They really are the best.

So there you have it. My VIPs. I’m truly lucky to have been blessed with some of the best friends and family out there. I hope that this post reminds every ‘single girl’ that although we may not have a man who makes us feel wanted and loved, it’s important for us to look around and recognize the people in our lives who already do. The ones who will never let us settle, who never lose patience, and who always let us know that no matter how lonely we may feel, we are never really alone.

6 Responses to “A Single Girl’s VIPs”


  1. 1 aashton
    April 20, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    wow! i cried too! very touching and very true! it is great to have a roster of VIP’s in ones life!

  2. 2 Mom
    April 21, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    Well, yes I cried and just at the part where you said I would be crying!! They say “the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree” and you are proof of that. Not only do you posess your parents good qualities (and the bad!), you posess all the great qualities that you see in others. You just find it hard to see them in yourself! Lucky will be the guy who comes into your life at the right time!! He will have found that hidden jewel that we all know exists!

    Love you! (you stop crying!!)

  3. April 22, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    I like this post! How sweet of you.


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 30,435 hits