08
Aug
09

Girls Night

So, the problem with trying to write a blog about my single life is that when there’s not much going on – there’s not much to write about! And while I wouldn’t really call it a ‘dry’ spell that I’m going through, I would say that I’m definitely trying to take a step back from focusing on my dating life so much, and just concentrate on myself (that sounds like such a cliche but – I think I need it). So – although I will certainly continue to write about my thoughts on being single (I still have many – they may just be fewer and far between), you may find that my posts might be more about random things going on in my life that I want to share.

For example…

Tonight I had a really fun girl’s night out. It wasn’t anything extravagant – I didn’t get super dressed up, and we didn’t have a crazy night on the town. But me and my best friend C. got together with another acquaintance of ours, who we actually met through B & C., and it was so nice spending some time with a new friend! S. has been a good friend of B&C for quite some time, and I have always enjoyed spending time with both her and her fiancee when we’ve all hung out. They’re both just really great, lovely people. S and C’s fiances work together, and were getting together for boy’s night. So – C. and I invited S. along for our own girl’s night out. We had a great dinner with lots of good conversation, and then went to see the movie “Julie/Julia.” FANTASTIC! Meryl Streep is exceptional in this movie and it’s the perfect movie to see with your girlfriends. In addition, the company was particularly nice tonight. I spend a lot of time hanging out with couples (friends whom I love) – but tonight reminded me of how much I also love just spending time with the girls; something every Single Girl needs to do on a regular basis. It also reminded me of how nice it can be when you discover the potential for new friendships. I’m still learning (in more recent months) that friendships can be unpredictable and are subject to change. However, with those changes comes the potential for letting new people into your life, and who knows what could come of that?! Anyway, I plan to make an effort to a) have more girls nights out, and b) spend more time getting to know S. and her fiancee.

While I’m making plans, let’s also say that I’m going to make an effort to blog more regularly! If I eliminate the need to simply write about my single life, maybe I’ll surprise myself by getting distracted from it all together – and wouldn’t that be nice! Call it a step in my “X Rehab Plan” (We’ll see though…my singleness does tend to be the thought that occupies my mind the most).

Stay tuned…

P.S. I have just finished the book The Time Traveler’s Wife. I was determined to finish reading it before the movie comes out in a few weeks. AMAZING!! If you’re looking for a good, romantic read, check this one out. But – hang in there for the first 100 pages – it gets much better/easier to follow! You can check out a few more of my book recommendations here.

2 Responses to “Girls Night”


  1. August 12, 2009 at 11:58 am

    Hi, just found your blog! Female friends are so important but undervalued in the overall scheme of things. I would add that it’s important not just for single women to spend time with their friends but for married women to do so, as well. Too many relationships become really insular to the detriment of both partners. Nobody’s world should revolve around just one person. We all need to invite friends in and take advantage of the special kind of rapport that only friendship provides.

  2. August 12, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    Hi Singletude! Welcome and thanks for all your comments!

    Great point – I honestly don’t think I’d have as close of relationships with my girlfriends (single AND married) if I hadn’t gone through a long single period myself. I try and look at discoveries like this as the reason I’m still meant to be single right now. Too many life lessons to learn and discover on your own (like how important relationships with girlfriends are). Then, I’ll be ready and settled into ‘myself’ when my time comes…


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 30,438 hits