11
Aug
09

Spin baby, spin!

In the name of posting more often, and about things not always related to singleness, let me  say this…

spin_classI’ve becoming addicted to spin class.

Let me start by saying that never in a billion years did I think that I would ever be someone who enjoys going to the gym. I was never athletic as a child; never played sports or got involved in teams. Got teased in gym class and was a total music geek at school. To this day, I’m sure this has significantly contributed to my low self-esteem, which in turn – has contributed to my feelings about being single and what it means. After I started to believe that I wasn’t athletic, I never wanted to try anything even remotely physical for fear of embarrassment. Needless to say, going to the gym was never a top priority on my list – I was convinced that everyone would just look at me like I didn’t belong there.

About 2 and a half years ago, my Mom decided to join the gym Curves. I had just left home, and she convinced me that a) not only should I be doing something physical to stay healthy and in shape, but b) it would be a good opportunity for us to meet up a few times a week. I started going about three times a week, and really enjoyed it. I felt better that I was doing something to stay healthy, and it was the most non-intimidating gym experience ever – all women, and most were about 40+. But, after about 2 years, I felt like I wasn’t getting much out of it, and the circuit was starting to get boring. I was TERRIFIED to join a regular gym, with crazy, in-shape people. But when I weighed the options (ex. the membership was significantly less with the corporate discount they offered, and it’s literally just down the street) I decided to just bit the bullet and do it.

Now – I love it.

Don’t get me wrong – I was NOT in good shape, and am still not really in good shape (I’ve been a member for about 6 weeks). But I feel SO GOOD when I come out! I love to sweat, and I can do whatever I want – classes, machines, weights  – my friend A. has been a big help in showing me some exercises that I can do to target certain areas. It’s key to do this or get a personal trainer if you want to get the most out of a membership.

I was completely convinced I would never try spinning/cycle – I’ve seen it on TV and movies, and it scared the crap out of me. People racing on stationary bikes, instructors yelling and screaming – not for me. However, my Mom and I bit the bullet and tried a beginner spin class one night – and I’ve been hooked every since. Turns out, it’s not that I’m not athletic at all! Sports was just never my thing. I’ve discovered that I love being pushed, I love sweating my face off – and the instructor is awesome and NOT scary. She makes the class fun, engaging and given that she’s not your typical ‘gym bunny’ instructor, it’s much less intimidating. And no, I can’t do everything that everyone else in the class does. Sometimes, I can’t do the full resistance and I can’t do all the reps – I have to take breaks or slow down now and then. But – I can always do more than I think I can, and that’s been a really pleasant surprise…

All this to say that going to the gym regularly has really helped me in the whole ‘concentrating on myself’ thing. I feel great when I get out of class, and find that it’s helping to very slowly, slowly increase my confidence and the way I feel about myself. It’s also given me something else to focus on, and a good way to spend my alone time instead of lamenting about my lonely, single life. Here’s hoping that I can continue to focus on me for awhile – as much as I love spin now, it’s really only been 6 weeks – totally possible this is just a honeymoon phase, but I’ll keep you posted.

I guess the moral of this post is step outside your comfort zone. Do something that you might not think you like. Focus on yourself for awhile. You might be surprised at the results…

0 Responses to “Spin baby, spin!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 30,465 hits