23
Aug
09

So, last night…

TimeTravellersWife…I took myself on a date to the movies. My friends had already seen the movie I wanted to see, and I couldn’t for the life of me get a hold of someone who didn’t already have plans for a Saturday night so I figured…what the heck. Going to the movies by yourself can be quite liberating (albeit I don’t recommend going to a romantic movie alone on a Saturday night like I did), but the trick is to get there right when the movie starts. That way, it’s dark, and you don’t feel like people are staring at you wondering why you’re at the movies alone.

On that note, I’m sorry to hear these words come out of my mouth but – don’t see the Time Traveler’s Wife. But most DEFINITELY read the book. It’s exceptional. If you see the movie, you won’t want to read the book, and then you’ll really be missing out. It’s great writing, romance and suspense at it’s finest, but the movie did not translate well to the screen at all (even though I LOVE Rachel McAdams and Eric Bana). Hope this saves you some money on a movie ticket.

5 Responses to “So, last night…”


  1. August 23, 2009 at 9:03 pm

    Good for you for going to the movies solo! Too many people can’t set foot in a public place without a partner in tow and end up missing out on lots of great experiences. Sometimes it’s even nicer to go out alone because you can hear your own thoughts more clearly without someone interrupting them all the time!

  2. 2 Margaret Hebron
    August 23, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    Hmm, I have been thinking for a while that I need to start going to movies alone… maybe I should get on that train.

  3. August 24, 2009 at 7:04 am

    Thanks! Only the second time I’ve done it, but it sure felt good! 🙂

  4. August 24, 2009 at 7:05 am

    Absolutely!! It’s not as bad as we make it out in our minds to be…

  5. August 28, 2009 at 4:17 am

    I’ve only taken myself to the movies a few times–2 maybe. You are very brave. Drop by. we have a great deal in common blogwise.


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 30,425 hits