11
Oct
09

Spoke too soon

As per my previous post, I may have jinxed myself.

I apparently thought I was OK with the whole X/GF situation. But regardless of whether I am or  not, going to a wedding where you are single and your ex is there with a new girlfriend, SUCKS. And unfortuantely, going home alone after it is even worse. Not feeling in a fesitve, Thanksgivingy mood….

4 Responses to “Spoke too soon”


  1. October 11, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    When I first split up with my ex, I hated that she was 200 miles away because it meant she was completely out of my life. But when, a lot later, I finally realised that I needed her to be completely out of my life, I was glad of the distance. The time when I was happiest since we split up was when I was on another continent from her, in fact.

    I can imagine how hard it must be to see your ex around all the time. Especially in a setting like a wedding.

    (Actually, IME, weddings mostly suck. I’ve only ever enjoyed one of the weddings I’ve been to. And I was ill for that one..)

    Eventually, it *will* get better. Sadly, until you finally realise that you truly don’t care where he is or what he’s doing, I know that being told that just doesn’t help.

    But try to hang onto it, if you can.

  2. October 11, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    Thanks Dominic 🙂 I wish I could get 20 miles worth of distance…somedays it feels like this will never go away. It’s hard to believe it now, but I guess I will trust from someone who’s been there that it *will* get better…? Go away…? I hope you’re right.

    Thanks for the comment – nice to know it’s not just single *girls* that struggle.

  3. 3 Jenn
    October 12, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    It always seems that right when you think you are okay….something happens and you aren’t. and then you are back at step one. Ahhh…the joys of dealing with men. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 30,465 hits