16
Jan
10

Resolution Recap

So- we’re about two weeks into the New Year; time to take stock of how the resolutions are going.

I’ve cooked one new recipe in the crockpot – Beef and Cabbage. I guess it was healthy….didn’t have any of the condensed soups filled with sodium that seem to be in every other crockpot recipe I’ve found. Probably wouldn’t make it again though, as I didn’t find it all that flavorful. I borrowed a Healthy Recipes crockpot book from my friend J., so I’m hoping to photocopy some recipes from that and get my groove on with the cooking. There’s nothing like getting home after a long day and having dinner already made. If I don’t have a man to do it, a crockpot seems like the next best thing….

Spinning. Nope. Haven’t attempted the non-beginner’s class yet, and haven’t done the two-a-week. I am blatantly failing at this resolution. However, I have added two other additional classes to my workout schedule so I feel as though that balances it out a bit – and I’m feeling good. The two new classes are a combination of cardio AND strength training so at least I feel like I’m killing two birds with one stone. I didn’t realize it would be so hard to get back into shape after being off for just two weeks, but MAN! That first class back was brutal.

Getting my finances in order. This is going well. I’ve set up an automatic payment plan to start paying my parents back, and am saving the wee bit of extra cash (from the raise I negotiated for myself back in the fall – : ) into a tax-free savings account. Feeling good about where I stand here for now, and hoping it will stick…

X. This is still a work in progress but it IS progressing – even if I have to consciously work on it. It’s been quite some time since X and I have talked or emailed, and I’m really starting to see that it is better this way. Much better, actually. I still hate to admit that – it feels like I’ve failed at having a friendship with X but I’m starting to see why it’s better that I don’t. He’s still dating his gf, and as much as I hate to admit it, it does give me a wee bit of satisfaction that B&C have confided to me that they don’t like her – at all. I’m not surprised as even the little I’ve seen them together, something is off. X is lonely and digging his own hole – it’s not up to me to save him anymore. How he deals with his own loneliness is entirely up to him. I’m nervous that we’re going to start seeing each other weekly now, as our dodgeball league starts this week. It’s been so long since I’ve even talked/seen him that I know it will be awkward, but I’m determined not toΒ  let the fact that I have to see him weekly set me back. I feel like I’m at a place now where at least I’m taking 2 steps forward and 1 step back, as opposed to 1 step forward and 2 back. That’s progress.

How are your resolutions going?

P.S. May I also just add that I will be touching down in Vancouver three weeks today. UBER excited to be volunteering at the Olympics in my home country!!!

2 Responses to “Resolution Recap”


  1. January 17, 2010 at 11:34 am

    Sounds like you are making progress!! Getting back on the fitness horse is tough, but once you get back into the routine, you will be flying high πŸ™‚ I LOVE spinning for that very reason – great endorphine high afterwards πŸ™‚ GOod luck!


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 30,438 hits