19
Jan
10

Find Me Somebody To Love

(Love that song, especially the version they did on Glee).

So, I’m seriously considering giving the online dating thing another go. I’ve been toying with the idea of getting back on eHarmony for about a week or so now. Maybe because they have a good deal on right now, or because it’s hard to resist the couples on those commercials who look so freakin’ happy, and do a damn good job of convincing me that – yes- my perfect match is out there, just waiting for me to find him. The thing that keeps stopping me is the ridiculous frustration and discouragement that have followed my last several attempts at online dating (or really, dating in general). I swore that I would NEVER do it again. It almost felt worse than not dating at all because some of the matches I saw made me go: “Are you kidding me? This is the best that’s out there?!” Or, I’d go on a few dates, and like every other guy since X and my last crush, there’d be absolutely no chemistry or interest on my end whatsoever.

Given that, I’ve been on a self-imposed dating diet for quite some time now. And as much as I remain incredibly discouraged about dating and my seeming inability to even develop a ‘crush’ on someone, I figure that I’m not getting any further by throwing in the towel on dating all together either. I’m not ready to commit to online dating again just yet, but I’m thinking about it.

Going back and reading some of my older posts about my online dating experiences and thoughts are not helping the cause right now….I’d better give it a few more days…

5 Responses to “Find Me Somebody To Love”


  1. 1 Margaret Hebron
    January 20, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    Here’s my problem with online dating: I am a sucker for a good story. “We met on the Internet” just doesn’t do it for me.

  2. January 22, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    I know what Margaret means – altho meeting on the Internet worked for me once, it’s “We met on a dating site” that doesn’t sound right either.

    I’ll stick with the “dating diet” for a while longer, I think..

  3. January 22, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    I hear ya Margaret. That’s part of my problem too – I’m an old-fashioned romantic at heart, and am a sucker for those sweet ‘how-we-met’ stories. Trying to come to terms with the fact that people just aren’t meeting the old-fashioned way anymore!

  4. January 22, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    Dominic – as always, thanks for the laugh! The dating diet was good for me I think….just not sure I’m done with it yet. Hope it’s having the same effect on you!


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 30,465 hits