03
Feb
10

Single Life

Dear blog,

I hope you are not feeling neglected. I have been negligent in fulfilling my New Year’s resolution to write to you more; I have been busy preparing for my Olympic adventure! Please forgive me. I may be taking a blog-hiatus for a few weeks while I live out my bucket list!

There, now that that’s out of the way….

Although I spend a lot of time on this blog venting about all the things that suck about being single (and there is a lot of material on that!) I do, every now and then, try to focus on the advantages that come with this way of life as well. I was recently reminded of one such advantage, when I spontaneously decided to tack on an extra week to my Olympic adventure, and spend some time visiting a friend of mine in Hawaii. Vancouver is already half-way there, and so I figured – why not? I have the means, I have the vacation time, and I have the desire to do it (really, who doesn’t have the desire to go to Hawaii). Sure, there were plenty of reasons I shouldn’t – can I afford to take three more days off work after already taking three weeks? Is there other things that I should be spending/saving my money for? (Even though I got a very good deal on the flight and it was cheap relatively speaking, it still set me back a bit). And logistically, can I pack for three weeks in Vancouver followed by a week in the tropics?

But in taking a page from The Buried Life – who knows where we’ll be tomorrow? Sure I might be able to go to Hawaii another time, but maybe not. So when these kinds of opportunities present themselves, I’m learning that sometimes it’s best to throw caution to the wind a little bit, and just go for it. That’s not to say I agree with spending money frivolously or doing things without considering the consequences, but spontaneity is the spice of life! And I never want to look back and think “What if?” I doubt I’ll get back from Hawaii and wish that I hadn’t decided to spend a relaxing week on the beach. One of my favourite lines from RENT goes: “Forget regret, or life is yours to miss. No day but today.”

Of course, being single makes ‘being spontaneous’ a bit easier to execute. No other person’s plans to consider, and no finances to worry about but your own. At the same time, sometimes I find myself questioning whether or not many of the assumptions I made about my life when I was younger, will actually come to fruition – so I feel this need to sometimes act impulsively, for fear that I might lose opportunities and experiences that in the past, I’d foreseen happening under different circumstances. Many of my friends are in the marriage/house-buying/baby-making stage, and travel is a rather low priority at this point in their lives. So, who knows how long I’d have to wait before someone wanted/was willing/was able to take a trip like this with me? I never used to be a spontaneous person, but in the last few years, I’ve started looking at life a bit differently….

I truly believe that the only things certain in life are death and taxes; no point waiting for something that might never happen. “Get busy living, or get busy dying” – as ‘they’ say. And, travel is something that is really important to me; whether it’s a weekend away to someplace I’ve never been to or an overseas trip abroad, I think it’s really important to see life beyond the ‘bubble’ that we live in each day (I have my Contiki experience to thank for that outlook). It’s a big priority for me while I’m still living the single life – I have plenty of time for all the other grown-up stuff. And because I’ve already filled this post with philosophical quotes about life, here’s another one I love: “The world is a book. Those who do not travel, read only a page.”

So, I leave you with the wisest quote of all: Just do it.

7 Responses to “Single Life”


  1. February 4, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    LOVE this post!! And SO go for Hawaii. I’d totally do the same thing. And I agree – being spontaneous is a huge advantage of being single, isn’t it?

  2. February 4, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    Absolutely! Thanks Jolene!

  3. 3 Cuz
    February 5, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    Love it! Carpe diem my dear! Have fun and we’ll see you out West!

  4. February 6, 2010 at 7:03 am

    Being single *was* something of an advantage when I decided “Screw everything, I’m going backpacking around Europe”

    It meant I could (a) do it, and (b) do it with no plan other than “It’d be nice to make it as far as Romania”

    So definitely, enjoy it while you can 🙂

  5. 5 Mom
    February 7, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    You’re amazing and your grandmother is looking down at you saying “go for it!”. She always believed that “travel was an education”. You never stop learning.

    Mom.

  6. February 8, 2010 at 1:46 am

    Thanks Cuz! Can’t wait to finally see you out here!

    Dominic – completely agree. My trip to Europe changed my life and opened my eyes to the world. Probably wouldn’t have done it if I’d had other ties back home…

    Mom – I think you’re right 🙂

  7. 7 Mel
    February 14, 2010 at 9:55 am

    Hey there – I feel the same way about many things in my life (I’ve neglected my blog a bit too!) But have a blast and know that we are all VERY jealous of your adventures. Can’t wait to hear all about them once you return.


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 30,438 hits